School Logo

Laleham Gap School

learn grow succeed
Google Translate
Google Search

Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage

Pupils in Year Reception follow a curriculum based on the Early Years Foundation Stage which includes seven areas of learning and development. These include three prime areas: 

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development and
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

and the following four specific areas through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Art and Design


Each area of learning and development is implemented through planned, purposeful play and a range of adult-led and child-initiated activity. Play is essential for children’s development, building their confidence as they learn to explore, to think and relate to others.

Please click the links below for long term plans and the English overview: